The project name is displayed on the top of the card. If the project was created by cloning repo directly from Github the name will match repo's name. For the projects created with the "Create empty project" button, users get to choose the project name.
"Live" section displays users currently working on a particular project in Liveshare.
Contributors section contains information about all the users that have joined the project at any given time.
The activity indicator placed below Contributors section informs if anyone is currently working on the project.
The dates under the activity indicator show, in that order, when the project has been created, and when it was edited last time.
The next section shows the link to the repository project was created from. This line is not displayed for the projects created with "Create empty project" button.
Last section of the project card is the visibility indicator. There are two visibility options: public and private. Public project is visible for everyone in the team. Private project is visible only to the owner of the project, team leaders, and organization owner.
Buttons layout in the project card depends on the position of the member in the team and project ownership.
Actions available for a regular member on their own projects are:
Forking a project will result in creating a copy of the project. This will copy all the files in the project, even those not commited yet. This does not required logging with a Github account.
In case of a project that user does not own, the available actions are:
- Joining Liveshare
Joining Liveshare allows user to start someone else's project without the need of forking. This works for both active and inactive projects.
Team leaders and organization owners have few more actions available for the projects. Does options are very similar for the owned and unowned projects.
There are 6 actions available for the team leaders:
- Joining Liveshare
- Inviting members to the project
- Changing visibility of the project
The display of either "Start" or "Liveshare" button depends on the ownership of the project. If you want to start your own project you will see "Start" button. If the project belongs to someone else you will see "Liveshare" button.
Inviting members allows to invite other to either fork or join the project. You can find more information about inviting members in the "Inviting members" section of the documentation.
The last button allows for changing the visibility of the project. There are two visibility options: public and private. Public project is visible for everyone in the team. Private project is visible only to the owner of the project, team leaders, and organization owner.
Team leaders and organization owner have access to all of the above options on all of the projects.
Organization owners have access to all of the Team leader's actions.